Waihi Borough Council Diamond Jubilee Booklet 1902-1962

Ohinemuri became an electorate, apart from Thames, in 1896 and was represented by Messrs A. J. Cadman, J. Palmer, E. Moss (1902-05), H. Poland (1905-25) and A. M. Samuel (1925-28). Then Waihi was once more included in Thames electorate — A. M. Samuel (1928-35), J. Thorn (1935-46), and next was in Tauranga electorate F. Doige (1946-51), G. Walsh (1951-57), but now it is part of Hauraki.

The Hon. A. E. Kinsella, Postmaster-General and Minister of Broadcasting, has represented Hauraki since 1957. He was born in Waikino where he had his primary education, later being Dux of the Waihi High School. He graduated B.A. (Victoria College) and M.A. (Auckland University College), afterwards serving during the War. Before entering politics, Mr Kinsella taught at Ponsonby, Napier Intermediate, Tologa Bay District High School, Argyle East and finally in the secondary department of the Paeroa District High School.